Devaraj van der Meer elected as fellow American Physical Society

| Redactie

Devaraj van der Meer, Professor in Physics of Fluids at the UT’s Science & Technology faculty, has been elected as fellow of the American Physical Society. He is the eighth UT researcher receiving this prestigious fellowship.

Photo by: Gijs van Ouwerkerk

With their fellowship program, the American Physical Society recognizes members ‘who may have made advances in physics through original research and publication, or made significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology’. Van der Meer, professor at the UT’s Physics of Fluids group, was elected for his ‘seminal contributions to the understanding of granular dynamics and free surface flow’.

Professor Van der Meer, who received a Vici grant in 2019, is the eighth UT scientist being elected as APS fellow. Ad Lagendijk (1997), Detlef Lohse (2002), Thom Palstra (2013), Willem Vos (2013), Hans Hilgenkamp (2019), Dave Blank and Alexander Golubov (both in 2021) preceded him.

Stay tuned

Sign up for our weekly newsletter.